Home > Hockey, Random/Rants, Sports > NHL 1st Round Playoff Thoughts,TSN Commentator Commentary, and The Pwning of Pierre McGuire.

NHL 1st Round Playoff Thoughts,TSN Commentator Commentary, and The Pwning of Pierre McGuire.

As the first round of NHL playoffs comes to a close, 5 SDC Blogs readers have had their picks advance to round 2 of the Double Championship contest.  Congrats to Adam Whitmore, Grant McMillan, Casey Fodor, Rob Cunning, and Rich Abney for living to fight another day.  I am a little hurt by Drew Doughty and LA’s early exit, but I’ll get over it.  Good thing I specified that contestants have until the completion of the final first round series to make their selections.  Still time to vote!

Now, on with some hockey thoughts….

As many long-time readers will know, I have a healthy distain for TSN/NBC hockey announcer, Pierre McGuire.  It’s generally due to his hyper-sensationalizing of insignificant plays, and ludicrous and completely incorrect game assessments.   He’s got a reputation for creeping out other announcers, like Darren Dutchysen.  From time to time, he gets paired up with former NHL player, coach, and GM, Mike Milbury.  Though no stranger to schizo opinions himself, Milbury put Pierre right in his place the other night, saying to McGuire, “Let’s have an intelligent conversation about this, so you keep real quiet.”

Beautiful.   Absolutely beautiful.  Exactly what everyone else wants to say to him, but can’t because they’re worried about staying professional.  When in doubt, get a former NHL cementhead tough guy to do your dirty work.  What’s doubly great is that Milbury’s so much physically bigger than him, that when he verbally belittles him on a TV broadcast, Pierre looks like he just got his lunch money stolen, and though he’s mad, he knows retaliation will mean being housed in a locker, or having his hair washed in the toilet.   

How Pierre McGuire continues to be employed as a broadcaster boggles my mind.   I know I’m not the only one who thinks so either; there are multiple facebook groups dedicated to his stupidity and/or professional demise.  Dave Hodge is another guy that I can’t figure out how he keeps earning a paycheque.  The guy’s hosted way too many shows that have all gone up in smoke, and his hair’s way to grandfatherly looking to be allowed on the air still.  It’s like he keeps convincing the TSN brass to give him another chance, “Look, I know ‘That’s Hockey’, ‘Inside Sports’, and ‘The Reporters’ , were all bad gigs, but I’m telling you, I can make the next one work, honest! Please-please-please-please-please come on I really need this… I got these cheeseburgers man!”

I long for the “Sportsdesk” days (pre-ESPN corporate buyout ‘Sportscentre’), the days of Gino Reda, Michael Landsberg, Teresa Hegert, Paul Romanuk, and the all powerful moustache of Jim Van Horne.  Merge them with the likes of today’s talent, Darren Dutchysen, James Duthie, Jay Onrait, Dan O’Toole, and Jennifer Hedger, and you’ve got a roster that’ll send McGuire and Hodge their pink slips quicker than Vancouver and Montreal fans hang their star players out to dry after they are eliminated from the playoffs every year. 

Speaking of eliminations, the Devils are gone.  But did you see some of the saves Brodeur made in that series against Philadelphia?  I guarantee that if Brodeur had made more saves like this one during the Olympics, Canada would’ve rode him to the gold medal:

From that same series, don’t you hate it when dusters like Dan Carcillo score; especially OT winners? These guys contribute nothing offensively all year (unless you count the ways he offends everyone with his appearance and playing style), and then they happen to find themselves playing on a line with 2 good players to protect them, they’re in the right place at the right time once or twice, score, and then always act like their dirty style and roster spot is so justified after; like there weren’t a million players that couldn’t have scored those tap-in’s  just as easily. 

                                                                     *****************************

Does it amaze anyone else that after 23 years of Coach’s Corner, Don Cherry still doesn’t know how much time he has left for his segment, nor is he able to say everything he wants to in the amount of allotted time that has been the same since the beginning?

Serenity Now!!

  1. Adam Whitmore
    April 29, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    Am I allowed to bet that pat kane will not only lose the gold at the olympics but kiss his sister in the SCF for the double silver?

    • April 29, 2010 at 6:41 pm

      haha, interesting. I will allow it. I will have to think of a side bet reward in the meantime, if that comes true.

  2. Ryley
    April 30, 2010 at 11:27 am

    i have some problems with pierre as well. The biggest gem ive heard in his collection would have to be “Tim Thomas from flint michigan, you know they play a lot of football in flint,and thats no doubt the reason he made that save” Wow. I guess the guy deserves some credit for his creativity. However it seems the only accurate knowledge that he does have is where the players are from. But there is someone who I cant stand even more than pierre and that would be Ray Ferraro. Find me a more negative useless POS in the booth. At least occasionally Pierre will make you laugh with his ridiculousness but Ray does nothing but leave me in a bad mood.
    BTW How bout those flyers :)

    • April 30, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      Pierre says the kind of things that would absolutely shock you if they came from any other person, but because you know it’s coming from Pierre, you just shake your head and say to yourself, “yeah, that sounds about right.” One time during a world junior game, a player shot the puck and missed high, and the puck sorta bounced back out in front somehow; Pierre chimed in saying, “That was an incredibly intelligent play by _______ to pass the puck off the end glass and put it right on ______’s stick for a shot. Wow, great play.” There was just no way in hell that that was a pass. He just makes stuff up because he thinks it sounds good in his bald little head, and he goes with it.

      I don’t have any contention with Ferraro (yet). He at least used to play and brings credibility to his color commentary. I’ll be on the lookout for his outlandishness though.

      Who are you voting for to win the double championship Ryley???

  3. ryley
    May 6, 2010 at 7:29 am

    I never got my picks in in time

    • May 6, 2010 at 8:10 am

      ok, I’ll extend it…. make it quick though!!!

  4. Stacy
    May 11, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Um, I know nothing when it come to commentating. But I do know that Gene Principe cannot open his mouth without a terrible pun coming out. I literally cringe when I hear him start talking because I know it’s going to be terrible. And he never fails me.

    • May 12, 2010 at 3:03 am

      ha, interesting. I know who Principe is, but I can’t recall many bad pun-isms from him. I will pay more attention, and maybe if it’s as bad as you say it is, he’ll get some hate time. Is he the Edmonton guy? Do you remember Ken Chilibeck, the guy who’s always do Sportsdesk commentary for TSN? He had a ratty little voice, and was quite a bother.

  5. Stacy
    June 2, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Principe is the Edmonton guy – used to be a news reporter and I remember not being fond of him then – now I loathe him! I mute him. I change the channel. (Not true, Dan would never let me change the channel during hockey, but you get my point). I don’t remember Ken Chilibeck but I will ask Dan. Normally I read/sleep/do puzzles through the intermissions…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 814 other followers

