Home > Humor, Query, Random/Rants > Seafood Discrimination, Harley Hearing Loss, and Eating Glue.

Seafood Discrimination, Harley Hearing Loss, and Eating Glue.

September 9, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

What exactly is the deal with “Joey’s Only” seafood restaurants? Are only people named Joey allowed to eat there? If that’s true, what about Joe’s, andjoeys-logo Joseph’s? Do they check ID’s at the counter prior to ordering? That’s gotta be a bad business decision, if it’s what’s going on. Somehow I doubt it. Perhaps does it mean that “Joey” is the inventor, and his place “Only” serves seafood? That seems to make more sense.   The sign really doesn’t make the true explantation clear.  One of these days I’m actually gonna go there and see if they serve me or not.

                        **********************

Does anyone else take an extra second when they’re eating an apple and they peel off the sticker to consider the fact that they’re going to be eating glue when they get to that section of the apple? Do you give that area an extra buff with your shirt, or just choke it down carefree? How about when you drink a juice box, and you puncture that little circular foil cover with the straw… ever wonder what happens to that piece of foil?

                       ***********************

What’s the appeal of the overly loud and obnoxious motorcycle? Those things make my ears ring from the moment they pass me until the moment I can’t see them anymore, and I’m a distance from them. How deaf does a motorcyclist have to be sitting directly on that noise, after coming home after a day’s ride, or after completing a trip that lasted a few hours?

Sure, you look real tough, wearing all that roasting hot and tight black leather, sporting that little skull helmet that meets about as many safetybiker standard requirements as the Jofa helmet that Gretzky used to wear. Is that the whole payoff? The image? Is it worth holding your arms up like the Karate Kid for extended periods of time, or hunching over on one of those (for lack of a better term) “crotch rockets”? I understand the whole biker subculture thing, and if you’re a legit badass or just love to ride, that’s one thing, but there’s just so many mid-life crises/non badasses out there that I just can’t rationalize the lifestyle change for.

As far as bike brand, you really gotta go Harley or go home. I’m sure there are good competing brands out there; probably some better ones in a lot of aspects, but Harley Davidson’s are the absolute measuring stick when it comes to motorcycles. So if you’re over 40 and looking to “shake things up”, make sure you pony up the whole way. Everyone’s gotta take that road test sometime, wearing the reflective vest, with the car following them. If you’re gonna look like a idiot riding a motorcycle just for one day, better make sure you do it on a legit hog.

Those things are not light either, I almost dropped my dad’s in the garage just sitting stationary on it once, when he used to have one. With that level of investment, I really don’t need that responsibility/insurance liability resting on my infrequent gym appearances.

Personally, I’d much rather sit in a comfy car with a stereo, the ability to hear my passengers, keep bugs out of my face, stay warm, recline, have a drink and set it in a cup holder, not have my vehicle fall over when it’s parked, and to generally lessen my chance of dying. But that’s just me. If bikes are your bag, then ride on…

  1. Stacy
    September 9, 2009 at 8:36 am

    “Joey’s Only” – just a name dude! Like Lululemon. Doesn’t really mean anything…you gotta call it something. Not a great name choice, but just a name.
    Apple sticker glue: what if all the glue stays stuck to the sticker? (I personally wash all produce when I get home and that includes taking stickers off). Juice box foil – pretty sure it just folds over. That’s why there’s a pointy end on the straw – it just punctures the foil and then it bends over. If the straw is not pointy then we have a problem, Houston.
    Obnoxiously loud bikes (and any other loud vehicle for that matter) totally unnecessary!!! Doesn’t make it cooler, and if you wake my sleeping child the wrath of an angry mother will be yours!

  2. KimPossible
    September 10, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    To Stacy who left the last comment – I studied your comment for oh… 3 seconds or so, to see if you were intentionally being naive in hopes for a laugh, or if you simply were naive and thought there was some seriousness involved in especially the Joe’s Seafood” blog. Ah alas, you weren’t being intentional, and therefore I would like to hook you up to be friends with my mother, who has never understood my humor either. And also my friend Shirley, you too would be bosom buddies!

    I personally will be testing the folks over at Joe’s Crabshack since we don’t have a Joe’s seafood around here. I swear if they don’t let me in, I’m putting on my sandwich board and protesting for at least 11 minutes! I’m going to prepare it ahead of time and take it with me just in case. I may even bejewel it.

    • davecunning
      September 10, 2009 at 7:05 pm

      keep us posted on your results Kim. Is the crabshack a Joe’s ONLY Crabshack? If not, the test may be void. Best of luck!

  3. KimPossible
    September 10, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    The thing is, there’s really little writing on the bottom of that crabshack sign, and I’m thinking that’s EXACTLY what it says. If not, I can turn my sandwich board into a “valet parking” sign and put it at the foot of my driveway. Who knows, I might make a little extra cash, and it’ll all be because of Joe! God love him.

    • davecunning
      September 11, 2009 at 1:01 am

      These Joseph folk sure have a nice little scam going for themselves.

  4. KimPossible
    September 11, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Indeed.

  5. Stacy
    September 14, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    “Joey’s”! Guys it’s “Joey’s” – not “Joe’s”! And KimPossible, my posting was mostly in reference to an earlier sdc blog – I don’t really care about the Joey’s name. It’s not naivety – I’m just trying to bug Davey. Chill.

  6. Stacy
    October 18, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    BTW – drove past the only Joey’s restaurant I can think of today – the ONLY part is no longer there!!! Just “Joey’s Seafood Restaurant”. Not sure when it happened, but Dave can take the credit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

