Home > Humor, Kelowna, Random/Rants > F You, Jenny Craig: The Fatburger Food Fiasco.

F You, Jenny Craig: The Fatburger Food Fiasco.

All of us North Americans got the memo a few years ago that we’re facing an obesity epidemic.  So between the Atkins’ diets, wraps, smoothies, yoga, sushi, pilates, weight-loss based reality shows, low-cal, low-carb, and all the other health fads we could steal adopt from other countries, we’ve made a valiant effort to “shape up.”

It’s natural for new businesses to pop up in cities.  But one recent addition to the restaurant barrage my hometown of Kelowna seems to fit into the healthy lifestyle landscape like the one thing that was different in the “One of these things is not like the other” Sesame Street song.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZIvgQ9ik48

100120091432

Yes, the newly city approved and built food dispenser is none other than “Fatburger.”

I mean, come on. For one, give yourself a chance; and for the other, help us out.  In name alone, I don’t see how this restaurant chain can survive.  Until I noticed this:

 fatburger beer

There’s not a salad in sight, 1200 calorie shakes, and burgers that look so terrible on the nutritional sheet that they’re probably the best in town.  (Nutrition Info: http://www.fatburger.com/menu/Nutrition_Facts.pdf) Oh, and they also serve beer.  The one element that has eluded the fast-food industry for so long has finally come to fruition at Fatburger.  Beer and Burgers?  This place might have a chance after all…

100120091434

I guess if you’re the kind of person who has given up on diets and flipped the bird to exercise, then you may have found your haven.  This place is a Weight Watchers Cheat Day disaster den.  And with people like Magic Johnson, Pharrell, and our old friend Kanye West backing the chain, it looks like Lovie Yancey’s (founder, lived to be 92, somehow) eatery lovechild (along with all the other chains, mind you) will continue to trip up all the people making an honest effort to eat healthier.

I figure writing about this place probably means I have to go eat there, at least once (market research, right?).  Has anyone else eaten there before?

FatBurger

  1. October 21, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    hey dave,
    @christinelu nice to meet you. just curious as to if you had a chance to go into the store and give the menu a try. the name can be misleading if taken literally — it’s been around since 1952.

    they’ve got veggie burgers, turkey burgers, chicken sandwiches as options …and yea, for those who feel like a burger they’ve got that in all sizes and no one is pretending their jenny craig approved. LOL. but just pointing out that there are options and it didn’t sound like you had tried them. full disclosure, i advise for the company (just helped them kick off their social media strategy at Blogworld).

    let me know if you get a chance to visit and try the place and hope to hear your feedback and happy to relay back to HQ. 🙂

    cheers,
    christine lu

    • October 21, 2009 at 9:44 pm

      I have not tried anything at the restaurant… yet (future market research :)). I did notice some of the menu “alternatives” and I’m sure they taste fantastic; I just find the place (in name, especially) in odd juxtaposition against our little west-coast-beach-town-health-consciousness.

      I guess if you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem; I don’t see Fatburger making any large strides in the direction of healthy eating, aside from the same things that all the other chain stores are offering, especially with adult and child obesity being such a topic of discussion in North American society now.

      I’m fairly certain the food is delicious though! I will let you know when I get to try it!

  2. Robarelli
    October 21, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    The food is actually pretty good there, good shakes, a good drive-in style burger…apparently the best in north america. It beats regular fast food by far and the even sell apparel

    • October 22, 2009 at 1:31 am

      next time you’re in there, try the Cookies n’ Cream shake for 1200 calories and 44 grams of fat. If you can burn that off in addition to two other meals in a day, they should give you some of that Fatburger swag for free.

  3. Stacy
    October 21, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Eaten at Fatburger in Edmonton and loved it! Definitely pricey, but if you like getting a BIG burger with a BIG bun (they are size matched or something so all your toppings and meat don’t all slide out the back) it’s the place to go. They also have some toppings that you might not find anywhere else – fried egg and chili stand out in my mind. Definitely give’r a try – I don’t think you’ll be sad you did, but your pocketbook might not allow you to enjoy as often as you would like.

    • October 22, 2009 at 1:35 am

      To be honest, it sounds phenomenal. I just doubt my heart (and apparently my bank account) will be thanking me after after a fried egg and chili burger. But that’s not too say this place is necessarily any worse for you than any other burger joint.

      Interesting that so many people are on board with this place…

  4. October 22, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I ate there once, but I didn’t think it was worth it. I over ate and over paid. It was good, but lots of places make amazing burgers that are more reasonably sized. I haven’t been back.

    • October 22, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Hmm… interesting, Grant. What did you have?

      I recently discovered that Boston Pizza makes an unbelievably tasty burger. Not bad for a pizza and pasta joint.

  5. Braden
    November 17, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Dave,

    When I was down in the states for a quick 3 day drive (there and back) drive down to Wisconsin to pick up a boat for my dad, I found a place called Culver’s (www.culvers.com). Seemed like a reasonable name and as I walked up to the door and noticed it said “Butter Burgers & Frozen Custard” As if a burger isn’t fatty enough they had to inject it with butter before cooking. As I ate my burger I noticed the butter was litterally driping off the end. So after a butter burger (delicioous I might add) you feel compelled to add a frozen custard to the mix and litterally explode due to so many calories. On this same trip we stopped in at a KFC and what is there – All you can eat buffet for like $9. That’s right a KFC Buffet. And we wonder why so many North Americans are obese.

    • November 18, 2009 at 1:29 pm

      both of those sound insane and delicious, simultaneously. A friend of mine once showed me this site: http://thisiswhyyourefat.com/ It’s full of abhorrent food creations/instant heart attacks that will make you cringe and salivate at the same time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

