Home > Sports > March Madness Meanderings…

March Madness Meanderings…

Some quick March Madness thoughts before no one cares about college basketball for another 10 or 11 months…

There really should be a rule against college basketball players wearing t-shirts under their uniforms.  It just looks so ultra bush league.  There’s a reason why NOT ONE player in the NBA wears a t-shirt under his jersey; and I’d speculate it has something to do with looking professional, rather than looking like a high-school freshman wearing a pinny over his gym-strip in P.E. class.  Some of these guys will actually go onto the NBA, so they better get used to the cold, or people seeing their non-existent arms sometime.

these guys would be the first stroked off my list if I were scouting. Good thing I'm not.

This whole March Madness thing’s got a lot of people hooked hey?  I’ll admit it looks like a cool atmosphere to play in front of for the players, or to be there as a fan.  But as far as basketball, I gotta say I Just. Don’t. Care. 

Maybe it stems from my own basketball career.  In grade 7, I was really good at it; legitimately one of the best at Rose Valley Elementary School.  Problem was, we didn’t win a single game that entire year.  And even despite my winning the RV 21 championship, I eventually faded into mediocrity once I hit high school, and found other things I was more interested in.  But I digress…

It’s bad enough I have to endure the network battling over whether they’re going to air the NBA or NHL playoffs when the games periodically overlap (didn’t Gary Bettman used to work for the NBA?  Hmm… suspicious season scheduling…), but this NCAA stuff has really got people gassed up.  Admittedly, despite low scores and no dunks, it’s good basketball; which helps its cause (can you imagine what would happen to hockey if if the NHL presented a “New NHL” to American TV networks that featured lower scores, and fewer exciting plays?).  I get the Americans, they like there basketball, football, and baseball, and no one’s gonna tell them different; but even in my college town of Caronport, Saskatchewan (population: 919), there are students with brackets posted on the walls, pools, and battles for Bell Express Vu Satellite TV time.  So surely if small Canadian prairie towns are digging it, a lot of other places are too. Crazy.  Maybe that James Naismith was onto something…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

